What is Vegan Margarine?
Vegan margarine has no hydrogenated oils and is trans-fat free. It is a margarine which is consumed by those who are vegans. The hydrogenation process reduces the fat structure and creates toxic compounds in the body. This is why vegan margarine is healthier. If you are looking for a margarine that is completely dairy free and is 100% vegan, then you should check out the labels for whey, lactose, casein and caseinate, these all ingredients are dairy derivatives and are frequently used in margarines.
Here is a recipe which tells us how to make vegan margarine:
- Soy milk
- Apple cider vinegar
- Coconut oil, melted
- Canola oil, safflower oil or sunflower oil
- Liquid soy lecithin -or- liquid sunflower lecithin -or soy lecithin granules
- Xanthan gum
You can start by placing the soy milk, apple cider vinegar and salt in a small cup and then whisk it together with a fork. Let it sit for about 10 minutes so the mixture curdles.
Then you can melt the coconut oil in a microwave and bring it to room temperature. Measure it and add it and the canola oil to a food processor. Making smooth vegan butter is dependent on the mixture solidifying as quickly as possible after it's mixed.
Then you can add the soy milk mixture, soy lecithin and xanthan gum to the food processor. You need to process it for 2 minutes, scraping down the sides halfway through the duration. Then pour the mixture into a mold and put it in the freezer to solidify. An ice cube mold can be used since it works well. The vegan margarine is then ready to be consumed within an hour. Store it in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 1 month or wrapped in plastic wrap in the freezer for up to 1 year. It has a long durable life.
There are many types of vegan margarine. They may include:
- Garlic vegan margarine
- Kimchi vegan margarine
- White chocolate vegan margarine
- Banana vegan margarine
- Three herbed vegan margarine
- Coconut vegan margarine