Gluten Free Foods List
Gluten is a type of protein, or more like a substance made up of a combination of different proteins. foods which commonly contain gluten usually includes wheat and several grains. Many often use gluten in their foods as an ingredient for binding and thickening, this protein is what gives bread its elasticity and shape to baked goods. However many also have an intolerance to these proteins and therefore opt for a gluten free diet in order to alleviate such symptoms that can even cause further damage. Gluten free foods are therefore foods that do not contain any gluten preferred by those who have adverse effects to gluten. However it is advised to first consult your doctor or physician before undertaking a gluten free diet. Here is a list of gluten free food you can enjoy!
Foods and condiments that have been thickened by using flour may pose a risk of containing gluten, therefore it is extremely important to check the ingredients list in order to determine whether your condiment is gluten free. Condiments such as ketchup, mustard, jams, peanut butter, cream cheese, sugar, salt and pepper are usually gluten free.
Fruits and Vegetables
Fresh fruits and vegetables are also mostly free of gluten and can be enjoyed without any worries. However foods that have been added into pies, tarts, cakes or any other baked item or even sauce may pose the risk of containing gluten.
Meats, Proteins and Dairy
Most fresh meats available are mostly gluten free, this includes; meats, poultry, fish, eggs, tofu, and beans! However, it is important to note that the cooking you use for your meat will further define whether your meats, beans or fish are gluten free. For instance, many prefer to bread their fish before cooking, bread commonly contains gluten and this can be an added risk factor. However, dairy products which include cottage cheese, milk, natural cheese, and most yogurts are often and mostly gluten free.
Grains which are gluten free include; quinoa, corn, millet, tapioca, rice, soy, buckwheat, potatoes, amaranth and arrowroot. You can use these grains as a substitute other gluten rich varieties. For instance, instead of using flour you can use flour made out of rice, potatoes or even cornmeal.
Gluten free beverages include fresh vegetable and fruit juices, regular coffee and tea and soft drinks.
Don’t worry, there are plenty of gluten free snacks available for you to enjoy. The list involves rice cakes, popcorn, soy crisps, cheese puffs, rice crackers, chocolates, corn chips, dried fruits, candies, and jello.
Frozen foods are also gluten free and safe for you to enjoy. These include ice creams, gluten free frozen waffles, sherbets, ices, frozen fruits and vegetables.